Cardiac CT Training & Certification
How to get there: Level 1, Level 2, Level 3, CBCCT board eligibility and ACR accreditation, explained for radiology and cardiology trainees and for practicing physicians.
Based on our AJR Expert Panel Narrative Review of training and verification requirements1, updated against the current SCCT, ACC, CBCCT and ACR documents.
The short version
- Level 1 is basic literacy. It is not enough to read independently. About 50 mentored cases, 15 of them at the scanner.
- Level 2 (Independent Practitioner) lets you read on your own. 250 cases within 36 months, including 65 “direct” cases where you take part in prep, acquisition and reconstruction, plus 20 CME hours.
- Level 3 (Advanced Practitioner) is for lab directors and teachers. 450 cases within 48 months, with 150 direct cases and 40 CME hours.
- CBCCT is the cardiovascular CT board exam. You qualify through Level 2 (any specialty) or, for radiologists, through the ACR cardiac CT route.
- Up to about 185 of the 250 Level 2 cases can be done online, if the course gives you a real interactive workstation, a mentor, and feedback against an expert read. Details below.
Pick your track
Radiology resident or fellow
- Get Level 1 exposure during residency: about 50 mentored cases, 15 at the scanner3. The ABR curriculum covers cardiac imaging but sets no case numbers1.
- Use your 4th-year elective or mini-fellowship, or a cardiothoracic/cardiovascular fellowship, to build Level 2 volume (250 cases, 65 direct)4.
- For CBCCT, you can go through Level 2 or the ACR route6. Trainees who finished ACGME training within the past 36 months are exempt from the CME requirement6.
- Keep a de-identified case log from day one, with date, indication, diagnosis and how you were involved.
Cardiology fellow
- Level 1 is required of all fellows (COCATS 4): about 1 month, 50 mentored cases, 15 at the scanner2. ACGME now requires at least 1 month of CT during general fellowship1.
- Level 2 can be reached in a standard fellowship with dedicated time, or in an advanced imaging fellowship. The 2025 ACC statement sets 250 cases, 65 direct, with a defined case mix5.
- CBCCT eligibility for cardiologists is Level 2 per COCATS 20156.
- Need the cases outside fellowship? Online workstation courses can fill most of the non-direct cases (see below).
Practicing physician
- Radiologists: ACR accreditation asks board-certified radiologists for 40 h of cardiac CT CME. Those certified before 2008 also need 75 cases in 36 months8. For CBCCT via the ACR route, you need 75 recent contrast cases (last 12 months), which can be completed on a workstation in a supervised course6.
- Cardiologists: complete Level 2 (SCCT Verification is one way to document it)4, then CBCCT. The 65 direct cases still have to happen at a scanner.
- If your training was more than 36 months ago, CBCCT asks for 150 contrast cases in the last 36 months6.
Requirements at a glance
A simplified summary. “Direct” means you took part in patient prep, acquisition and reconstruction. “Workstation” means library or online cases you manipulated yourself in 3D and compared with an expert read. “Observation” means watching a case or presentation without manipulating it.
| Pathway | Total cases | Contrast / non-contrast | Direct (live) | Online workstation | Observation-only cap | CME | Timeframe | Case mix |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Level 1COCATS 4 (2015); SCCT Level 1 (2015)2,3 | 50 mentored | Not specified | 15 at the scanner | Up to 35 (SCCT requires a 3D workstation) | None allowed (SCCT) | None required | About 1 month / 4 weeks | Correlative imaging data should be available |
| Level 2 / Independent PractitionerSCCT 2020 + SCCT Verification; COCATS 42,4 | 250 mentored | ≥200 contrast; up to 50 non-contrast (can be the same patients) | ≥65: ≥50 physically present + up to 15 with acquisition watched on a recording | 85–135 | ≤50, and only from CME-accredited material | 20 h | 36 months; 8 weeks recommended | COCATS: ≥20 function, ≥20 structural/congenital, ≥15 grafts, ≥40 with cath or perfusion correlation |
| Level 2 “core” (advanced imaging fellows)2025 ACC/AHA/ASE/ASNC/SCCT/SCMR statement5 | 250 | CAC: only 20 count | 65 | No fixed cap. Archived cases are for case mix and “should not be a main source” | — | — | Within fellowship | CCTA 150, structural 40 (incl. TAVR), other anatomy/function 20, adult congenital 10, vascular 20 |
| Level 3 / Advanced PractitionerSCCT 2020 + Verification4 | 450 mentored | ≥300 contrast; ≥100 non-contrast | ≥150 (≥100 physically present) | About 150 | Not allowed | 40 h | 48 months; 24 weeks recommended | Structural 100, congenital 50. Also peer recognition and a second imaging modality |
| CBCCT — cardiology / nuclear medicineInteleos 20266 | Level 2 (COCATS 2015) | 250 contrast + 50 non-contrast (may overlap) | 65 | Same categories as SCCT | ≤50 (must carry CME) | 20 h AMA PRA Cat 1 in 36 months | If trained >36 months ago: 150 contrast cases in the last 36 months ⚑ unverified | As for Level 2 |
| CBCCT — radiology (ACR route)Inteleos 2026; AJR 20251,6 | 50 contrast cardiac CT + 300 thoracic CT (or 500 CT incl. 50 thoracic) in 36 months | Calcium-score-only exams don’t count | Not specified | If the above was done >12 months ago: 75 contrast cases in the last 12 months, which may come from a supervised workstation course ⚑ unverified | — | 30 h cardiac CT in 36 months (200 h if not thoracic-qualified) | 36 months / 12 months | — |
| ACR CT accreditation — cardiac moduleACR, revised Dec 20258 | Board-certified radiologist: 40 h CME (+75 cases in 36 months if certified before 2008). Cardiologist: Level 2 = 150 exams | Calcium scoring doesn’t count toward CCTA | Cardiologists: 50 physically present | Not addressed | — | Radiologists 40 h; cardiologists 30 h | Renewal: radiologists 50 cases in 24 months; cardiologists 50 a year | — |
The ACR–NASCI–SPR practice parameter for cardiac CT was revised in 2026 and no longer lists specific case or CME numbers. Earlier versions asked for 50 cases and 30 h of CME in 36 months7. Some older summaries, including CBCCT’s own forms, still quote those numbers.
Maximize your online cases
You can’t do everything online. The direct cases have to happen at a scanner. But most of the remaining volume can come from a well-built online course, and that’s usually the hardest part to accumulate.
For an online case to count, look for:
- A real interactive workstation for every case: you scroll, reformat (MPR, curved MPR, MIP, 3D) and measure the dataset yourself, including non-cardiac structures. Static images and videos count only as observation cases.
- Your own read first, then comparison with the expert read.
- A mentor: a chance to ask a Level 2 or Level 3 trained faculty member about every case.
- CME accreditation (AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™), which is required for observation-only cases and useful toward your 20 or 30 h CME requirement.
- A certificate and log: course name, dates, number and type of cases, signed by the course director. Keep an anonymized logbook with indication and diagnosis, because SCCT and CBCCT can audit it.
- A realistic pace: SCCT won’t accept more than 30 cases logged in one day.
Grey zones: whether a recorded scan acquisition (SCCT “A1”) counts toward the direct cases for remote learners, and whether all 150 recent cases for CBCCT can come from courses, aren’t clearly settled. Ask before you rely on either.
- From Dr. GhoshhajraOnline Cardiac CT Case Course — workstation-based, mentored, CME planned Coming soon
- From Dr. GhoshhajraLive case review sessions — recurring small cohorts (virtual or in person) reading with a Level 3 expert, each learner on their own interactive workstation; CME planned; attendance logged automatically to the Case Log after attending verification Coming soon
- Free toolCardiac CT Case Log — track direct, workstation and observation cases against each pathway Open
Courses
From Dr. Ghoshhajra
- Congenital Heart Disease CT CasesOpen
- Online Cardiac CT Case Course (toward Level 2)Coming soon
- Live case review sessionsComing soon
Other reputable options
This is not an endorsement, and no prices are shown. Dates and formats change, so check each provider. “Workstation” means each learner manipulates cases themselves. Whether cases count toward Level 2 depends on the provider’s documentation and the category rules above.
- SCCT Advanced Cardiac CT On-demand Training Toward Level 2Online
- SCCT virtual hands-on workshopLive virtual
- SCCT Annual Scientific MeetingIn person
- Cardiac CT training with Matthew Budoff, MD (Harbor-UCLA, Torrance, CA)In person
- ACR Education Center — Coronary CTACheck format
- Medality Cardiac CT (toward Level 2)Online
- NASCI Annual MeetingIn person
- RSNA Annual MeetingIn person
- European Society of Cardiovascular Radiology (ESCR)Online / Europe
- EACVI Congress (ESC)Europe
Where the sources disagree
- 50 or 65 direct cases for Level 2? COCATS 4 says 65 in its table and 50 in its text. SCCT 2020 and CBCCT use 65 (≥50 physically present + up to 15 by recording). ACR accreditation uses 150 cases with 50 present for cardiologists.
- 250 “contrast” or 250 total? CBCCT’s letter template says 250 contrast + 50 non-contrast. SCCT says 250 total with ≥200 contrast. Plan for the stricter version.
- Recent cases from courses (CBCCT). Inteleos accepts course certificates for recent cases, but an older CBCCT case sheet suggests a minimum of live cases even then. ⚑ unverified The Inteleos pages block automated checks, so confirm directly with CBCCT.
Sources
- Rajiah PS, Budoff M, Ghoshhajra B, Morris MF, Ocazionez-Trujillo D, Ordovas K, Patel AR, Ranganath P, Vargas D, Woodard PK, Choi AD. Training and Verification Requirements for Interpretation of Cardiac CT and MRI: AJR Expert Panel Narrative Review. AJR 2025;224(3):e2431524. doi:10.2214/AJR.24.31524 · PMID 38984783
- Garcia MJ, et al. COCATS 4 Task Force 7: Training in Cardiovascular Computed Tomographic Imaging. JACC 2015;65:1810–21. PDF
- Maroules CD, et al. SCCT curriculum guidelines for general (Level 1) cardiovascular CT training. JCCT 2015;9:81–88. PDF · SCCT training requirements table
- Choi AD, et al. 2020 SCCT Guideline for Training Cardiology and Radiology Trainees as Independent Practitioners (Level II) and Advanced Practitioners (Level III) in Cardiovascular CT. PMC · SCCT Verification Program · Level 2 case categories (rev. 2021) · Level 3
- Baldassarre LA, Mendes LA, et al. 2025 ACC/AHA/ASE/ASNC/SCCT/SCMR Advanced Training Statement on Advanced Cardiovascular Imaging. PMC (Table 3)
- Certification Board of Cardiovascular Computed Tomography (Inteleos). CBCCT Eligibility and Resources · CBCCT exam (2026 cycle) ⚑ some details unverified
- ACR–NASCI–SPR Practice Parameter for the Performance and Interpretation of Cardiac CT, revised 2026. ACR
- ACR Accreditation Support. Interpreting Physician: CT (revised Dec 18, 2025; cardiac CT module)